Sharif constitutes select committees

By Gopal.T Jan. 27, 2020, 10:41 am IST
Sharif constitutes select committees

Amidst suspense on the continuation of the Legislative Council, its chairman M A Shariff had constituted two select committees to study the two bills that were referred to them by him on January 22.

The two government bills – AP Decentralisation Bill and the AP CRDA (Repeal) Bill – were sent to the select committee amid resistance by the ruling YSR Congress. The Council chairman said that he followed the mood of the House and his discretionary powers to refer the two bills to the select committee.

While the government is getting ready to table a bill in the Assembly to dissolve the Legislative Council, the chairman had constituted the two committees headed by Ministers Buggana Rajendranath (on decentralisation) and Botsa Satyanarayana (on CRDA) bills. The chairman had also written to the political parties to name their representatives to be in the two committees.
Given the strength of the parties in the council, the TDP would get five members, while the rest of the parties, including the ruling YSR Congress, get one member each. The BJP and the Progressive Democratic Alliance are recognised and each of them have one member in the committee.

As the ruling YSR Congress is in favour of abolition of the Legislative Council and a decision is likely to come before the cabinet and Assembly on Monday, it is to be seen if the party would send the names for the select committee.

The chairman had not set any deadline for the parties to send their names and the process might take a day or two as the ruling party is busy with the Assembly schedule.

Click Here and join us to get our latest updates through WhatsApp